What I Am Thankful For, Thanksgiving 2015

Can you believe that today is already Thanksgiving?  I know that I can’t.  It might be because the weather here has been more like late-September or October than it has felt like November.  Even with the one blip of a snowfall that we received, it doesn’t feel like the calendar is already flipped to Novebmer 26.  But the calendar also feels off, becauae of deployment.

In a way, time stands still in the absence of a loved one.  I know the days go by, but the days do not feel the same when you’re spending them without your significant other.  Even still, this year I find that I still have a lot to be thankful for.

1.  My Husband, My Best Friend, My Confidant, My Soul Mate
Of course, number one is my husband.  Even though we are separated by a few miles (a few thousand), I am thankful for him in so many ways.
Firstly, for being my husband and loving me.  I really do not know where I would be without him.  (He would answer this sarcastically, updating me on my would-be physical whereabouts).  But, when I say this, I mean emotionally.  I have never loved this deeply, shared so much with another person, or been so committed to another human being.  His emotional well-being plays a huge role in that of my own.  I want for nothing more than for him to be happy and healthy and safe.  If any of that is jeopardized, I feel it, too.
But I am thankful for him also, because he is a Soldier.  He is a remarkable young man; one of many that our country is fortunate to have enlisted and serving for us.  I am thankful that he, and his brothers and sisters in arms, have each other to rely on and serve with.
I could go on and on about all of the ways that I am thankful for my husband, but in sum, I am thankful for who he is : both who he is to me, as well as everything that he is as a person.

2.  My Family
Secondly, I am thankful for my family.  I use the term “family” to encompass not only the family I am directly related to, but also the family that I was fortunate to marry into.  I feel very blessed to have the relationship that I do no only with my own family, but that my husband and his family have the same relationships with their family, and that our two families blend so seamlessly.  I truly am thankful for you all.

3.  For Having Enough
Regardless of what  I have or do not have physically, I am thankful for having enough of what I need, and or recognizing this.  I may not have everything that I want, I may never have everything.  But what I do have is enough.  And “enough” is plenty to be thankful for.

4.  For My Health and Well-Being, As Well As That Of My Family
While we are not all in 100% the BEST heath, I am not about to divulge mine or my family’s personal health concerns. (Anyone else watch The Real Housewives of Orange County and think of Brooks?)  But that being said, I am thankful that we have the health that we do have for as many days as we can have it.  You never know when something will happen to you, or you will receive a diagnosis that will change your life, so I am thankful for as many good days as we are given.

5.  For Having Friends and Support
I am thankul for all of the wonderful people that I meet, and how important some of them become to me.  Whether we have been friends for years, were or are coworkers, or are other military SO’s and we share a bond that is different from civilian relationships, I am thankful for each and every one of you for coming into my life, and being who you are to me.

This list is written personal to me, but it is not in any means meant to bring up begrudgement for the “haves” and “have nots.”  But instead to encurage you to be thankful for what you have, whatever that is and however that applies to you.  Today is a day that we pause, and are appreciative of who we have in our lives and what we have (not necessariy materialistically).  But may you always have enough of what you need.  And may you always recognize what that is, and appreciate it.

May you and your loved ones have a wonderful, safe, and healthy Thanksgiving.  May you spend today and the holidays with the ones you love – either physically or in your hearts, may you laugh and be filled with cheer, and create memories to hold onto.

Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

