Another Update

It’s been a while since I’ve taken the time to sit down and write about anything related to my military life.  I honestly haven’t had much to say, much less much time to actually sit down and concoct an essay to post for my readers.

 

It’s been X days since my husband deployed.  And things are still going well for us both.  Well, probably better for me than him, because, let’s face it, who’s EXCITED about being in a place they wouldn’t necessarily opt to go, where they are attacked daily, and forced to be away from their spouse, family, and loved ones for months on end?  But, in spite of all of this, my husband is doing as well as could be expected for the situation.  Working 12hour shifts, staying safe… He is excited about R&R, though, and I can’t say I blame him.  I’m super excited about it, too.

We don’t have much exciting planned, as far as taking a big trip or something.  Just a lot of relaxing, getting around to the places and things he’s missed, and enjoying lots and lots and lots of good food.

 

What are your thoughts on soldiers taking R&R, though?  I get mixed responses from people as to whether or not he should actually take it, or even take it to come home.  I understand why some people DON’T go home for R&R, and I respect that decision, but that decision isn’t for everyone.  And I understand that decision being different for single soldiers as opposed to those who are married, or in a seriously committed relationship.  But for those who are married, and have children especially, when you’re deployed, I am sure your family is on your mind almost every second of every day…why NOT go home to see them?  In this case, I think it’s the boost some soldiers need to get through the remainder of their deployment.  Can you imagine going a year STRAIGHT without seeing your husband, wife, children?  I’d take two weeks if they were given to me to fly home and see them.  But, if I were single, had no one back home that I planned on marrying…yeah, I’d take my two weeks and make a vacation out of it in another country.

 

I don’t know, I’m just of the mindset that because you can fit your life into this neat little box of your theories, doesn’t mean that everyone elses’ will fit into that same box as well.  [In other words, what works for one, doesn’t necessarily work for the group, or everyone else.]  I get angry when people try to force me and my beliefs into their box of philosophy.  What works for me works for me, what works for you works for you…and we’ll deal with it.

 

Buuut enough of that.

 

Things are going well for me.  I’m working part-time, and I’m fitting in well with my new job (both in the job itself, as well as with my colleagues).  So that’s exciting for me.  I’m attempting to get myself together to focus on my obsession with photography, and get a business for myself put together.  That’s going more slowly than I had hoped, simply because I can’t find the time or energy around everything else in my life to get everything together to where I’m comfortable with it.

 

We’ve gotten A LOT of snow this winter – it seems that schools are closing at least one day a week lately.  Makes me kinda jealous, since it’s been a LONG time since we’ve had a winter like this one.  I’m starting to believe that people really do forget the winter so easily.  I’m not that old, and I remember winters like this when I was a kid.  So, how is it that just because we get hit with a snow storm that dumps a foot of snow overnight, it’s like DOT doesn’t know how to properly plow the roads, people forget how to drive it in, practically EVERYTHING shuts down, and it’s a huge news story we can’t stop talking about?  It’s just snow, we live in a state that has a REAL winter season (not like the mid-Atlantic states, but a real, New England winter).  It’s not like we’re Florida, and ohmygosh are getting snow and we NEVER get snow.  We’re in a New England state, people should be prepared for this kind of thing.  And for the love of God, if you’ve grown up in a snowy state, retain your winter storm driving skills, and don’t be among the masses who somehow “forget” how to drive in snow over the course of the summer.

But I love the snow, and am super excited that we’re getting so much snow!  I’m sure everyone else up this way has had enough, hates it, and groans every time the weather man mentions anything about snow.  I do my happy dance.  No, I don’t really benefit from the possibility of a snow-day – I’m no longer a student, and I do not work in a school or University.  I just really love the look, feel, and smell of snow.  Yes, snow has a smell.

 

My life as an Army Wife, otherwise, is going well.  I still haven’t broken down and cried because I miss my husband.  I do, dearly, every day…I just don’t cry about it.  It’s not going to bring him home any sooner, it’s not going to ensure his safety.  So, I just get through each day, and focus on what I have to do.  I am still much more accepting of the situation than I ever thought I would be.  It is what it is.

I think I could be dissociating with life, too.  Haha, who knows.  All I know is that for now, I am doing OK.

 

So, otherwise, I really don’t have much to report…I could just go on complaining and talking about other unrelated things.  My blog may be quiet for a while, because I have nothing to say, but I’m sure I’ll write about R&R once that’s over and done with.  Lord knows that once my husband is home for R&R, I’m not going to be getting online to blog – I’m spending all of my time enjoying my time with him.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

