Dreaming Deployment

[Originally published March 23, 2010 on Blogger]

About a week ago, I had a dream that it was my husband’s deployment day.

It was strange, because a former friend and this former friend’s parents were the ones to pick up my husband and take him to the airfield.  I remember being so angry that I couldn’t spend that time with him, and all I had were the few minutes to say good-bye.

But the dream really got me thinking about deployment, and how I hate that time is going by so fast now.  Deployment is coming up this fall.  Yes, it’s six or seven months away, but when at the end of those months it’s time to say good-bye to your husband, for what you hope is only a year and not forever, you hate to see time fly.  It’s only supposed to go by fast while he’s gone.

Either way, I am left with my hands tied, and every fear of the could-be’s on my mind.  And every day I have with him, will not be a day wasted.

Deployment has put into perspective for me, that there is an impending unknown every day for every one, military or not, dangerous job or not.  You never know when your time has come, therefore every day with every one you love should not be wasted.  But when you know your loved one is going away, to a dangerous zone, and you will not be able to see them for lengths at a time, and will only hear from them sporadically, it makes that possibility much more real to me.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

